Avail Home Loan Subsidy under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana!

5 min read

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) –  is a central government scheme launched with an aim to make buying home easier for:

  • Economically Weaker Section
  • Low Income Group
  • Middle-Income Group

The scheme offers subsidized home loan interest rates based on your household income. The benefit can be availed not only on the purchase of a new or resale house but also on the construction, extension or improvement of existing houses. Take a look at the eligibility criteria for availing the loan.

PMAY Eligibility Criteria

To access PMAY benefits, you must fulfill the following eligibility criteria:

Basic Eligibility Parameters

  • The scheme is for beneficiary families comprising of a husband, wife and unmarried children.
  • An adult earning member of a family irrespective of marital status is treated as a separate household in the MIG category.
  • The beneficiary family should not own a pucca house in the name of any family member across India.
  • In the case of married couples, either of the spouse or both together in joint ownership will be eligible for a single subsidy.
  • The beneficiary families should not have benefited under any government housing scheme including PMAY.
  • Home loan borrowers, who availed the subsidy but later on switched to another lender for a balance transfer, will not be eligible to claim the benefit again.
  • Beneficiary families under the MIG income group mandatorily need to furnish their Aadhaar numbers to avail the benefit of the subsidy.

Eligibility Parameters as Per Income Criteria


  • Eligible Family Income: The annual household income as per the income category must be:
    • EWS – Upto Rs. 3 lakh
    • LIG – Between Rs. 3 lakh and Rs. 6 lakh
  • Woman Ownership: Woman ownership is mandatory. The house, whether new or existing, should be in the name of an adult female member of the family or in joint ownership with the wife (if married). The condition is not mandatory in case of house construction or extension/renovation of an existing house. The house can be solely in the name of a male member of the household, provided there is no adult female member in the family.
  • Carpet Area: The maximum carpet area of the house under the scheme must be:
    • EWS: Upto 30 sq. mts.
    • LIG: Upto 60 sq. mts.

2. MIG (I & II)

  • Eligible Family Income: The annual household income as per the income category must be:
    • MIG-I: Between Rs. 6 lakh and Rs. 12 lakh
    • MIG-II: Between Rs. 12 lakh and Rs. 18 lakh
  • Woman Ownership: Woman ownership is not mandatory.
  • Carpet Area: The carpet area of the house under the scheme must be:
    • MIG-I: 160 sq. mts.
    • MIG-II: 200 sq. mts.

The process to Claim PMAY Interest Subsidy Benefit

The home loan interest subsidy under PMAY is routed through 2 central nodal agencies – Housing & Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO) and National Housing Board. These institutions channelize the subsidy to the pre-listed lending institutions, which further help the eligible beneficiaries to avail the interest subsidy benefit.

The process to claim PMAY interest subsidy benefit is given as follows:

  • After your home loan is disbursed, the lender will send the required details to the National Housing Bank (NHB) for data validation and other checks.
  • NHB after due diligence approves the subsidy to eligible borrowers.
  • The subsidy amount will be disbursed to the lender for all eligible borrowers.
  • On receiving the subsidy amount from NHB, the lender will credit the same to the respective home loan account of the borrower and will be adjusted in the loan accordingly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved. | Portal Owned by Digital One Web Solutions.